chickasebo.blogg.se

Room a thousand years wide
Room a thousand years wide













Listen and Hear Evil lives inside (inside me, you, we, all of us)Įvil lives while others lie (lie are buried under soil i.e. Notice how you can substitute evil into the lyrics and it is almost perfect. If you read Chris Cornell's lyrics it becomes clear that he is well read.Įvil is within everyone. A running theme throughtout literature and philosophy. This song is about the unique evil capacity within everyone that lives on after you die. I'm not sure anyone can actually tell "you" what it means saal. Then again this is just what I thought the song was about, and I am certain most of you won't agree with me. Īlso one more thing when he is talking about thousands of doors I had this mental image like a labrynth of some sort, and if you think about it the mind is something very complex like a maze. When the protagonist is asleep, blind to what is occuring, that is when this being is active. He lives these years that I walk blind: This is just like what I spoke of earlier, and to me it seem to fit. One who loved what love denied: I considered this as if this other being is the protagonist's polar opposite, and his love is what he likes.as of where the other being likes the other. Also he might think that he is just sleep walking. I close my eyes and walk a thousand years: I thought this as of when he/she closes his eyes, as if he were sleeping, the other being is then dominant. One who lives while others lie: The protagonist or the singer lies to him/herself saying that he is just imagining this all. Listen, hear, he is inside: I thought of this as if this thing is inside of him, but the thing itself can make noise as if it were speaking. General CommentWell my personal meaning of this song is completely off compared to all of yours although, isn't the beauty of music how the individual sees it? Anyway I thought of this song as someone whom has another side to him/herself like another personality or a dark side. Like I said, in the convalesence of withdrawl, a lot of things seem like religious experiences, what I'm saying now, is that this was one of mine, and it was so awesome that I just had to share it with you. And towards the end of my using, I thought that all my hopes "(would) not begin". I walked " in the cold sun and rain", that is to say, no matter what my life looked like externally, I was cold, always, because of the addiction. That's exactly what I used to think while I was in my addiction: this can't be my life. And the sense of disbelief as encapsulated by the lines "all these years can not be mine". With no recess! It was like being traped in a big room. The grind of addiction, it was a period that seemed to be "a thousand years wide".

room a thousand years wide

The lies, the false opportunites "a thousand doors, a thousand lies". It speaks to me of time lost to the addiction "all these years will not begin" and of a tomorrow that never arrives "tomorrow begat! tomorow!". It was like having a religious experience, listening to those lyrics, cause they really verbalised my 'reality'. I was bottoming out from a drug addiction and the whole thing about, having something inside you that lives/sees while you are in denial or are dead in some metahporical way really helped me. This song seems to play with the concepts of onotogical, or our inner experince of time, and 'clock' time. I overcame that but sometimes is not so easy to quit thinking like "what if everything just didn't happen?". Some time ago prevented me from achieving certain life goals. This song is quite close to me if my interpretation is correct: a disease I had The years that he wished will not begin, because he will not live them His past self is being finally taken away because he realizes that

room a thousand years wide

Furthermore it seems love denied him other things he already loved so we can assume that the consequences of the love for something/someone is the cause of his dissatisfaction He relies on his immagination to picture a future he could have lived He still thinks about the time when he had certain expectationsĪnd his past self is still alive inside his mind

room a thousand years wide

I close my eyes and walk a thousand years In this case, though, the songwriter deals with having been denied certain paths his life could have taken (because he did a mistake, something wrong or because something bad and unexpected happened). My InterpretationI think the title of the song refers to the unlimited possibilities life offers us hence life is a "room a thousand years wide".















Room a thousand years wide